2018 Bruce Lerch Player of the Year Finalists


Boston Lax is excited to announce our ten finalists for the 2nd Annual Bruce Lerch Player of the Year Award. We are excited to present the “Bruce Lerch Player of the Year” on July 9, 2018, at halftime of the Boston Lax All-American game

Last season Boston Lax introduced the first annual “Bruce Lerch Player of the Year” award. The Player of the Year award is named for our former Editor-In-Chief and dear friend, Bruce Lerch, who was so instrumental in growing and covering the game of lacrosse in Massachusetts.

Former St. Sebastian’s and current Cornell University attackman, John Piatelli took home the award last season. Piatelli earned the first annual Bruce Lerch Player of the Year Award, which was awarded at our 2017 Boston Lax All American game at Xaverian.

Piatelli led St. Sebastian’s to an 18-3 record, a 2017 ISL Championship, and was named a US All-American, the 2017 ISL Player of the Year and the Mass Prep Stars Prep/Private Player of the Year in 2017.

While there are many deserving candidates this year Boston Lax has narrowed down the list of student-athletes to 10 standout players.


Player of the Year Finalists

(Alphabetical order by first name)

Bruce Lerch Player of the Year finalist Position School Class College Commitment
Danny Hincks Goalie Belmont Hill 2018 Dartmouth
Frankie Higgins LSM/FO Hingham 2018 Bucknell
Hayden Cheek Attack Nobles 2018 Harvard
Jake Antonucci Attack Westwood 2018 Providence
Jake Quilty Midfield Hingham 2018 Vermont
Joe Gooley Midfield Duxbury 2018 PG – Phillips Exeter
Nick Loring Midfield Nobles 2018 Harvard
Will Bowen Defense BC HIgh 2018 North Carolina
Will Frisoli LSM/Defense St. Sebastian’s 2019 Ivy League
Zach Ludd Attack Governor’s 2018 Ohio State