2017 Boston Lax Postseason Awards


by Ryan Kilian @masspreps

The 2017 lacrosse season concluded last week, with the 2017 Boston Lax All-American Game. At the annual end-of-season All-Star event, Boston Lax presented their end-of-season awards to three recipients at the Hawk Bowl at beautiful Xaverian Brothers High School in Westwood, Mass.

Bruce Lerch Player of the Year

John Piatelli ’17 – St. Sebastian’s School

John Piatelli – St. Sebastian’s receives the 2017 Boston Lax Bruce Lerch Player of the Year (pictured with Boston Lax founder Sean Morris).


Piatelli earned the first annual Bruce Lerch Player of the Year Award, named after our esteemed former Editor-In-Chief, Bruce Lerch

Piatelli led St. Sebastian’s to an 18-3 record, an 2017 ISL Championship, and was named a US All-American in 2017. He was chosen as the 2017 ISL Player of the Year and earned numerous other postseason distinctions for his efforts.

“It’s a very big honor to receive this award,” Piatelli told Boston Lax. “While I did not know Bruce (Lerch) personally, I knew that he meant a lot to the game and I honored to receive this.”

The Cornell University bound Piatelli finished the 2017 season with 60 goals, to go with 72 assists in 21 games played.

“My coach always stressed to me to try to get everyone involved early in the game,” Piatelli said of his unselfish play.

Check out a few of Piatelli’s highlights from the 2017 season below.

Tony Manzelli Coach of the Year

Andrew Lavalle – Wakefield High School

Andrew Lavalle – Wakefield Boston Lax and EMLCA coach of year – Sean Morris left – Boston Lax and Wayne Puglisi – right EMCLA & Andover HS.


Lavalle picked up two pieces of hardware on last Monday night, as he earned the Tony Manzelli Coach of the Year award, named after the legendary former Weymouth High School coach.

Lavalle also earned the Eastern Massachusetts Lacrosse Coaches Association Award that is awarded to the top coach in Eastern Mass. lacrosse each year.

Under the guidance and direction of Lavalle and staff, Wakefield went 20-1 in 2017, earning a Middlesex League Championship and an appearance in the Division 2 North District Championship game.

Boston Lax Golden Ball Award

Jack Cahill ’17 – Medfield High School

Jack Cahill receives 2017 Golden Ball award – Sean Morris left and Kain Kilian right

Cahill concluded his Medfield career in high-scoring fashion, as the All-American, three-time State Champion and Holy Cross bound middie earned our first Golden Ball Award.

The Golden Ball Award is awarded to the player who scored the most goals in the MIAA playoffs. Originally started by ESPN Boston, Boston Lax picked up the award in 2017 and Cahill is our first winner.

Despite not advancing to the 2017 Division 2 Championship game, Cahill’s D2 C/E District winning, playoff game-winner against Walpole will go down as one of the most memorable goals of the season. Check it out below!