2018 D1S Quarters (VIDEO): Xaverian 10, Franklin 7


By Michael Flanagan @fLAno0

FRANKLIN –  Xaverian defeated Franklin in the Division 1 South Tournament Sectional for the third consecutive season on Saturday afternoon, as a 5-0 run in the second half led by junior attack-man Trevor Carroll (two goals, three assists) lifted the No. 5 Hawks to a 10-7 victory and a semifinal date with No. 1 Hingham on Tuesday.

Michigan-bound LSM/Close D Dylan Gardner got Xaverian on the board just 12 seconds in with a goal off of the opening faceoff. Franklin senior All-American and Rutgers commit Eric Civetti would tie the game at 1-1 before back-to-back goals by Andrew Perry and Andrew Lee gave the Hawks a 3-1 lead after one.

Back-to-back goals by Chase Tanner and Matt Lazzaro tied the game at three for Franklin midway through the second before Sam Jean gave Xaverian back the lead with a lefty bouncer with 3:44 to play in the quarter. Lazzaro evened for Franklin off of a feed from Patrick Morrison with 1:52 remaining in the half and the game entered halftime knotted at four.

Civetti gave Franklin their first lead of the game on a man-up just 1:19 into the third. Lee tied it for Xaverian off of the ensuing faceoff but Jake Davis potted home a goal just 24 seconds later off of a fast break to reclaim the lead for the Panthers at 6-5. Jean evened the game at six on a fast break with 6:26 to play to make it 6-6 at the end of three.

Xaverian simply took over in the fourth quarter as Jean struck again with 8:15 to play during five-on-five to give Xaverian back the lead at 7-6. Carroll added a pair of goals along with one each from Perry (man-up} and Lee, as the Hawks pulled away for the 10-7 victory.


Box Score

Xaverian – 3  1  2  4 – 10

Franklin –  1  3  2  1 – 7



Trevor Carroll – 2 Goals, 3 Assists

Sam Jean – 3 Goals, 1 Assist

Andrew Perry – 2 Goals, 2 Assists

Andrew Lee – 2 Goals

Dylan Gardner – 1 Goal

Jack Daoust – 1 Assist

Teagan Alexander – 12 Saves



Matt Lazzaro – 2 Goals, 1 Assist

Eric Civetti – 2 Goals

Chase Tanner – 1 Goal, 1 Assist

Nitan Chaudhury – 1 Goal, 1 Assist

Jake Davis – 1 Goal

Patrick Morrison – 1 Assist

Connor O’Rourke – 10 Saves